Discover what a Bristol sugar plantation and slave owner’s home might have looked like around 1790. Eleven rooms spread over four floors reveal what life was like above and below stairs, from the kitchen in the basement where servants prepared meals to the elegant formal rooms above.
The house was built in 1790 for John Pinney, slave plantation owner and sugar merchant. It was also where the enslaved man of African descent, Pero Jones lived. A small display explores John Pinney’s involvement in the sugar trade and the life of his enslaved valet, Pero Jones. View the Dining Room, Drawing Room, and Study as they would have appeared in the 18th century. Explore the kitchen, laundry, and housekeeper’s rooms, where the house’s business was conducted.